I NEED YOUR HELP: Open discussion on The Farrelly Brothers

I have chosen to look at the work of The Farrelly Brothers for my film coursework looking into their repeated use of portraying mental illness and disabilities within the comedy genre. However I need to conduct primary research about my three focus films which are, Me, Myself and Irene, The Ringer and Dumb and Dumber asking some specific and general questions, any responses would be great. More so if you could pass this on your blog and get others involved that would very helpful.

Me Myself and Irene (2000)

Did you find the idea of Charlie/Hank being described as a “Schizo” offensive or unfair?

Did you find yourself comfortable laughing during Me, Myself and Irene?

Would you class  Me, Myself and Irene a good comedy or an exploitive release?

The Ringer (2005)

The Ringer casted disabled actors instead of portraying them within the film using able bodied actors, was this more correct?

Has The Ringer changed your views on those with disabilities?

Who did you find yourself laughing at the most within The Ringer?

Dumb and Dumb (1995)

Would you consider any disabilities to be present within the film?

Is there any attempt at offence within Dumb and Dumber or in your view was it a funny silly humoured comedy?

Answering any of these questions would be a great help, the more obviously the better, thank you.

11 comments on “I NEED YOUR HELP: Open discussion on The Farrelly Brothers

  1. I haven’t seen the first two films so I can’t help with that but Dumb and Dumber I have a vague memory of it since I saw it at least 15 years ago or something. Back then I remember me considering it a silly humored comedy (but then I was 12 or something) Its the memory I have of it now…I was so young that I didn’t really remember anything regarding disabilities….
    I’m not much help but here’s me trying….

    • That’s still helpful thank you, I think you were the target audience for this film. The age bracket and humour wise, although they might be disabled it was a comedy and therefore was meant to make you laugh and not take things so seriously!

  2. I have only seen Dumb and Dumber, so it is all I can talk about. I think both of the leads are probably disabled, most likely cognitively delayed, with IQs that put them below average but still high functioning.

    As to whether or not it’s offensive … I would need to watch it again. The last time I saw it, in the mid-90s, I was still young and not attuned to fiction’s offensiveness or in offensiveness. At the time I thought it mindless fun. Now? I don’t know.

    • This proposes another question, if disabilities are not labelled in films is it then okay to laugh? Just like dumb and dumber. I argued that The Farrelly Brothers made a comedy, with no intent to cause offence whereas since they have raised awareness in The Ringer. When you saw it and seeing it as mindless fun that in my opinion is what was intended.

      • I think that is definitely what they intended. My guess is they weren’t even thinking about whether or not the characters were disabled, but who can say for certain?

        Personally, I don’t think the existence or non-existence of a label matters. If something is offensive, it is so no matter how you do or do not refer to it. For whatever that’s worth.

  3. I’ve only seen Dumb and Dumber and that was a long time ago. The Ringer looked like it would be quite offensive so I never watched it (and it didn’t look very funny). Me, Myself and Irene-I may have watched the beginning of it and turned off. I think there were a few funny bits in it but some of it was a bit uncomfortable too. I probably would see that more as an exploitive release than a good comedy. I never thought of disabitlities being present in Dumb and Dumber. From what I remember of it I didn’t feel like it was an overly offensive film, more funny, silly humour.
    Hope the answers are ok. Good luck in your coursework.

  4. Haven t seen Me, Myself and Irene in a long time so may have to skip those round of questions but…

    The Ringer (2005)

    The Ringer casted disabled actors instead of portraying them within the film using able bodied actors, was this more correct? — Yes it not only showcased the acting capability and humor of these actors but also made it more genuine creating a sentimental appeal to the film. Take the Other Sister for example, though the acting wasn’t bad you still knew they weren’t handicapped which slightly took away from the realism.

    Has The Ringer changed your views on those with disabilities? — Not at all, I don’t think this type of movie can have that large of an impact. I may be biased though because I have worked with mentally handicapped kids.

    Who did you find yourself laughing at the most within The Ringer?

    The you scratched my CD guy, he was a riot and really witty

    Dumb and Dumb (1995)

    Would you consider any disabilities to be present within the film?

    No just ignorance

    Is there any attempt at offense within Dumb and Dumber or in your view was it a funny silly humoured comedy?

    Its a slapstick comedy, I don’t believe it was portrayed as disabled people acting mentally challenged. It was a movie about two ignorant friends going on a journey and making stupid decisions along the way.

    Hope this helps bud, good luck

Leave a Reply

